KNCHR list Kidero, Mutua, Joho, Sholei among others not fit for August 8 general elections

The fate of some politicians dreams now remains a gamble after civil society organizations blacklisted them from running for gubernatorial seats on August 8, General elections 2017.

Big names like Governors Evans Kidero, Alfred Mutua, Hassan Joho, Cyprian Awiti, Kenneth Lusaka, Mwangi wa Iria, Okoth Obado, Nairobi Senator, Mike Mbuvi Sonko, and ex- Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru are among 20 political candidates ‘not fit’ to run for public office.

The Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR) presented the list to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to bar them from contesting.

Other notable figures


Others facing the wrath of KNCHR include include MPs Ferdinand Waititu (Kabete), Alfred Keter (Nandi), Asman Kamama (Tiaty), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Mathew Lempurkel (Laikipia North), and nominated Senator Elizabeth Ongoro.

Former Judiciary Chief Registrar, Gladys Boss Sholei, has also been dimmed unfit to run for the Uasin Gishu County Women Representative seat by KNCHR.

Leave a Reply