About Mombasa Campus


Kenyatta University Mombasa Campus was formerly the Aga Khan (Kenya High school and Junior Academy) -a private school owned by the Aga Khan Foundation. After obtaining necessary approvals Kenyatta University acquired the facility in January 2007 and eventually launched the Mombasa Campus in May 2007.

The campus was officially opened in 2008 by the then Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Local Government, Hon. Musalia Mudavadi

Campus Premises

Currently Kenyatta University Mombasa Campus extends from the Recreational Park which lies between KCB-Treasury Square & Anglican Churck of Kenya Cathedral along Nkrumah Road, to the Administration & Lecture Blocks between Coast Girls High School &Central Bank of Kenya-Mombasa Branch and the state –of-art hostel between Central Police Station & the Lotus Cinema Annex building along Makadara Road


Mombasa Campus is located in Mvita subcounty, Mji wa Kale ward within the Mombasa City CBD. It is within walking distance to some iconic landmarks of Mombasa. These are Old Town, Fort Jesus, Swahili Cultural Centre, Mama Ngina Drive, Likoni Ferry, Moi Avenue-Elephant Tusks

It is also within a walking distance to the County Government Offices, Mombasa Hospital, Pandya Hospital, Aga Khan Hospital, All Saints Cathedral, Lord Shiva Temple & Mbaruk mosque