Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Read More: 11th Moot Court

Read More: 11th Moot Court



Kenyatta University law students last week emerged the overall winners of the 11th Edition of the All Kenyan Moot Court Competition (AKMCC), edging out the 2022 champions, the University of Nairobi, Parklands Campus. The AKMCC is the oldest national Moot Court Competition in Kenya, which is organized and hosted by the law students of Kenyatta University. The Moot Competition is held annually in the month of March and brings together students from all law schools in Kenya who compete in the research and moot categories based on a hypothetical question on topical human rights issues in Kenya.

The theme of the 11th Edition was “Social-economic Rights: Enhancing Government Transparency and Accountability in Protection of Human Rights. According to the President of the 11th Edition, Janet Karimi, the theme was inter-disciplinary in focus and provided law students an opportunity to research and make oral presentations and submissions on Government management of public debt and its impact on fulfillment of socio-economic rights. The Moot Competition held on 14 -17th March 2023 drew participation from 21 teams representing law students from: the University of Nairobi Parklands and Mombasa Campuses; Africa Nazarene University; Egerton University; Kisii University; Moi University; JKUAT; Strathmore University; Mt Kenya University; Embu; and the hosts Kenyatta University.

The final rounds of the Moot Competition were held at the Supreme Court presided over by Hon. Justice Stephen Riech, in a seven judge bench that included bar practitioners with expertise in human rights law. The Kenyatta University team of Celine Maina and Debrah Moegi emerged the overall winners in the Moot Competition category. The African Nazarene University emerged the first runners-up, with University of Nairobi, Mombasa Campus as the second runners-up. In the Research category, Kenyatta University also emerged the overall winners with Martha Bowen scooping the best research paper award.

The 11th Edition of the Moot Court Competition was held in partnership with: the Supreme Court of Kenya; the Office of the Ombudsman; Kenya Law; Transparency International; IMLU; Article 19; International Public Finance; Uraia Trust; Mzalendo Trust; International Justice Mission Kenya; Amnesty International; Siasa Place; Kaplan and Stratton; Mohammed Muigai Advocates; NOB Advocates; Katiba Institute; Rachier and Amollo Advocates and Kenyatta University.

The AKMCC aims to enhance research, writing and oral presentations skills of law students across Kenya; provide networking opportunities between students, judicial officers and other industrial players and also offers internship opportunities in partner organizations for the participating law students.

Previous winners of the AKMCC have won international moot court competitions including, the African Christof Heyns Moot Court Competition; John Jackson World Trade Organisation Moot Competition; Nelson Mandela World Human Rights Moot Competition; and the Jean Pictet International Humanitarian Law Moot Court Competition.


Ms. Celine Maina

Winners of the Research Category

Ms. Martha Jepekemei Bowen

Login to post comments
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…